While Some Parents Volunteer Too Much, Others Feel Excluded

Sacred Heart Greenwich Middle School Faculty Blog

The New York Times Motherlode blog

CreditTyler Hicks/The New York Time

This past September, just as I’ve done every September for the last few years, I signed up for the PTA. But this year, I told myself things would be different. I would go to every single meeting.

The first meeting came and went, and although a reminder was written down (in pen!) on my calendar and flashed across my Galaxy screen twice, I didn’t make it.

I blamed my crazy schedule and all the busyness that manages to consume me: work, projects, deadlines, traffic that I seem to live in, frazzled evening trips to the grocery store because a week’s worth of dinner was not planned. But I can’t use those excuses anymore. I want to be more involved, and it is important that I carve out time to participate and volunteer…

View original post 736 more words

Leave a Reply

