13 Common Sayings to Avoid

This could also be a good reminder for parents.

Sacred Heart Greenwich Middle School Faculty Blog

When I was a new teacher in middle school several centuries ago, I occasionally said things to students that I later regretted. In the last few years, I have witnessed or heard teachers say additional regretful things to students. Recently I asked students in my graduate courses (all practicing teachers) if they ever told their students anything they regret. After hearing these regrets and talking with children about what teachers said that bothered them, I compiled a list of things that never should be said.

I’ve narrowed my list to 13 representative items. Some of these are related to control issues, others to motivation, and still more to management. All reflect frustration and/or anger. Let’s start the upcoming school year by wiping these sayings out of our vernacular.

1. “You have potential but don’t use it.”

Students feel insulted when they hear this, and while some…

View original post 954 more words

Leave a Reply

